Today the PRE-ORDER of SHORTSTRAW’s brand new album, YOUTHLESS, is officially available on iTunes.

YOUTHLESS is Shortstraw’s third full length album, comes after the release of the first single (and video) from the album, HEAPS KEEN, at the beginning of December. The album is set for official release on 5 January 2015.

“Youthless. Because we are older, but we are still useless.”


The album was recorded and mixed at High Seas Studios in Rosebank, Johannesburg by Jacques du Plessis and Adrian Erasmus. Jacques did the bulk of the producing during the recording process and whilst mixing, Alastair produced with Jacques. It was mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge in New York City.

“In this album there’s the idea of youth which plays itself, there’s a song about high school, there’s a song about moving in with your girlfriend, a song about going out and partying, there’s a song about building a house figuratively and literally. Without it being expressly obvious, there is this theme throughout the album. We found the theme developed naturally and so it made sense as to how it was going to fit together as a product.

The band came up with the concept for the album artwork together. They initially wanted super youthful scenes, but without the youth in the pictures. Almost like a modern city, but sans any people. The images looked too miserable though, as though they were advertising child trafficking, so they opted for a less bleak look and got all the toys together for the cover. Angie Durrant Batis did the art direction and Hanro Havenga took the photos, the same two who also did the artwork for their previous album.


YOUTHLESS Track Listing:

  1. Youthless
  2. Oxygen Supply
  3. OMG
  4. Until Your Head Hits My Pillow
  5. Heaps Keen
  6. House
  7. Charlotte Carter
  8. Say Anything
  9. Campus Life
  10. Out With It
  11. Tidy Up
  12. High School
  13. Curtains
  14. When You’re Angry
  15. Good Winter


If you pre-order YOUTHLESS before 25 December 2014, you will receive 6 of the tracks from YOUTHLESS already on Christmas Day, before the official release of the album!




We also did an interview with the guys ahead of the release of this album, check it out HERE.


Written by Nic Berti
Founder at El Beardo. Music addict. Festival junkie. Gamer.

Leave a Comment